Yummy Food

Kueh Pai Tee

Beginning of this year I was in Singapore for a few short weeks and had a lovely time doing a number of things.  And I brought home these yummy kueh pai tee cups readily made to be used.  They are so tasty on their own and even more so once you have added your choice of fillings.

Pandan Chiffon Cake

I also bought a special cake tin while I was there so that I can bake this special cake.  Lucky for me, my first try was a great success!!  It was so yummy!  – stated not only by me but those lucky enough to have shared it.

Yusheng

I spent Chinese New Year with Family and Friends and it was my first try at Yusheng.

The below is from wikipedia.

Yusheng,  (Chinese: 鱼生; pinyin: yúshēng), or Prosperity Toss, also known as lo hei (Cantonese for 撈起 or 捞起) is a Teochew-style rawfish salad. It usually consists of strips of raw fish (sometimes salmon), mixed with shredded vegetables and a variety of sauces and condiments, among other ingredients. Yusheng literally means “raw fish” but since “fish (鱼)” is commonly conflated with its homophone “abundance (余)”, Yúshēng (鱼生) is interpreted as a homophone for Yúshēng (余升) meaning an increase in abundance. Therefore, yusheng is considered a symbol of abundance, prosperity and vigor.

While versions of it are thought to have existed in China, the contemporary version was created and popularised in the 1960s amongst the ethnic Chinese community and its consumption has been associated with Chinese New Year festivities in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore.

Food Stores

Food is so readily available everywhere and often the best ones are at hawker centres –  Hainanese Chicken Rice and Dumplings just to name a few.  Too many to name, I would be salivating.  I haven’t been out much at all for a very long time and it was my first encounter with the Coaster Pager!

Back home … own cooking with whatever is available.

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yummy Food

Leave a Reply

